You are here: Troubleshooting > Installationand MIDI setup > Starting and authorizing Finale

Starting and authorizing Finale

If you have Internet access (and are not running firewall, security, or virus software that would block information from being received back at your computer), simply select this option, and the rest is taken care of automatically after filling out the required information.

Otherwise, select one of the other options for phone, FAX, or standard mail, and a window will be displayed containing a User Code. You may print out this page and FAX or mail it to us, or you can call with your serial number and User Code. In either case, we will generate an Authorization Code that you manually type in to complete the process. In each case (including internet), our system automatically sends an e-mail confirmation of the information. If you selected the internet option, but have a firewall that blocked the information from being received, then you can manually type in the Authorization Code information that was sent to you.

Your copy of Finale can be authorized on two computers simultaneously. However, with an Internet connection, authorization can be moved from one computer to another at will. Simply choose Deauthorize Finale from the Help menu to open up a free authorization slot. Your copy of Finale can now be authorized on a different computer. Also, deauthorize prior to making hardware changes to your computer, such as replacing a hard drive. Doing so will ensure a slot is open to authorize after updating your hardware. When you deauthorize, printing and saving are disabled until authorization has been restored.

Note. IMPORTANT the User/Authorization Codes are computer specific, and will only work on the given computer installation. Make sure that the Authorization Code is typed in using capital letters, and also verify that the correct serial number has been entered. If you have made a change to the computer (replaced the hard drive or motherboard, or installed a new operating system), and didn’t deauthorize prior to doing so, contact Customer Service directly by phone, FAX, or standard mail with your serial number and the location ID for the specific installation in question, and one of our representatives can clear the previous authorization from your account. If the software is not "reminding" you to authorize when you run the program, then the authorization has been successfully completed.

Next, the MIDI Setup dialog box appears. Here, you can choose the devices you want to use for MIDI Input and playback. You’ll learn how to configure MIDI using this dialog box in the next section.

Previous Next



User Manual Home